Saliva test for the diagnosis of endometriosis: a major breakthrough for women’s health

“A better detection of the disease”: this is one of the main focuses of the French national strategy to fight endometriosis, wich implementation was announced on January 11, 2022 by Emmanuel Macron.

Most women suffering from endometriosis are going through a long period of medical wandering (8 years on average), during which they undergo numerous appointments, tests and examinations before a diagnosis is made, most often requiring a surgery.

A global innovation can now allow them to avoid this obstacle course. A French team of endometriosis experts and artificial intelligence engineers has developed a diagnostic test based on the sequencing of microRNAs present in saliva.

This simple, non-invasive salivary test, called Ziwig Endotest®, has been validated by the largest clinical trial ever conducted in this field. It allows the early detection of all forms of endometriosis, even the most complex, with a reliability close to 100%.

It should revolutionize the diagnosis and management of the disease, and constitute in the near future a major breakthrough for women’s health.

Our scientific publications

Our work has been published in several scientific journals:

October 2022

Endometriosis-associated infertility diagnosis based on saliva microRNA signatures

Dabi Y., Suisse S., Puchar A., Delbos L., Poilblanc M., Descamps P., Haury J., Golfier F., Jornea L., Bouteiller D., Touboul C., Daraï E. and Bendifallah S.

Infertility is a major concern for patients suffering from endometriosis. In this study we identified a set of miRNA biomarkers using next-generation sequencing (NGS), and developed a saliva-based miRNA signature of infertility among patients with endometriosis.

The early diagnosis of endometriosis and the identification of a phenotype associated with infertility could very well open new perspectives for the evaluation of endometriosis-associated infertility and for the care pathway provided to patients.

July 2022

A Bioinformatics Approach to MicroRNA‐Sequencing Analysis Based on Human Saliva Samples of Patients with Endometriosis

Bendifallah S., Dabi Y., Suisse S., Delbos L., Poilblanc M., Descamps P., Golfier F., Jornea L., Bouteiller D., Touboul C., Puchar A. and Daraï E.

This is the first scientific publication in the world to address the issue of diagnostic microRNA biomarkers in endometriosis located in saliva. And also the first scientific publication to demonstrate the presence of more than 2500 salivary biomarkers that can be used to decode the pathophysiological mechanisms of the disease.

This publication describes in detail the NGS process and the bioinformatics analysis that allows the link between these salivary biomarkers and their clinical relevance.

May 2022

Endometriosis Associated-miRNome Analysis of Blood Samples: A Prospective Study

Bendifallah S., Dabi Y., Suisse S., Delbos L., Poilblanc M., Descamps P., Golfier F., Jornea L., Bouteiller D., Touboul C., Puchar A. and Daraï E.

This study demonstrates the reproducibility of the detection method (Next Generation Sequencing) of microRNA biomarkers in 200 plasma samples obtained from patients diagnosed with suspected endometriosis.

  • This work, for the first time in the world in endometriosis, makes it possible to detect, quantify and evaluate the diagnostic value of more than 2600 microRNAs in blood.
  • It also demonstrates the value of microRNAs in differentiating patients with and without endometriosis in the largest population studied.

March 2022

MicroRNome analysis generates a blood-based signature for endometriosis

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Dabi Y., et al.

This study reports on 200 plasma samples obtained from patients diagnosed with suspected endometriosis:

  • The first diagnostic signature of endometriosis composed of 86 microRNAs.
  • The first diagnostic signature of endometriosis with a sensitivity, specificity, and diagnostic accuracy of 96.8%, 100%, and 98.4%, respectively.
  • The first diagnostic signature for endometriosis resulting from the synthesis of two emerging technologies: Next Generation Sequencing and Artificial Intelligence modeling.

These diagnostic performances are superior to the tools used in current practice for diagnosis such as surgery, questionnaires, CA125 assay, and imaging tests (pelvic MRI, pelvic ultrasound).

January 2022

Salivary MicroRNA Signature for Diagnosis of Endometriosis

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Puchar A., et al.

This study reports on 200 patients diagnosed with suspected endometriosis:

  • The use of non-invasive salivary sampling for the first time in the world.
  • The demonstration of the interest of next generation sequencing, its reliability and reproducibility to identify salivary microRNAs, and thus to be able to analyze more than 2500 new biomarkers.
  • The combination of almost 2500 new biomarkers (microRNAs) using Artificial Intelligence algorithms.
  • The obtention of the first salivary signature for the diagnosis of endometriosis composed of 109 microRNAs with an accuracy of over 98%.

January 2022

Clues for Improving the Pathophysiology Knowledge for Endometriosis Using Serum Micro-RNA Expression

Dabi Y., Suisse S., Jornea L., et al.

This study reports the link between the detection of microRNAs in the blood and the main signaling pathways that explain the development of this pathology. More precisely, in 200 plasma samples obtained from patients diagnosed with suspected endometriosis, it is reported that (i) Next Generation Sequencing allows the detection of more than 2600 miRNA biomarkers, (ii) all biomarkers were analyzed to evaluate their relevance or link with endometriosis. The analysis of the differential expression of some miRNAs allows the discovery of new signaling pathways involved in the physiopathology of endometriosis opening new horizons in the understanding of this pathology and potential new therapies.

January 2022

Machine learning algorithms as new screening approach for patients with endometriosis

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Puchar A., et al.

Symptom questionnaires have been used for many years as one of the diagnostic tools for endometriosis. Surrey’s literature review demonstrates the poor relevance of these tools related to methodology.

In this study, an artificial intelligence algorithm based on 16 clinical features or symptoms of a patient is evaluated for the diagnosis and screening of endometriosis. This algorithm exhibits diagnostic characteristics such as sensitivity and relevance above 80% exceeding the performance of conventional questionnaires.

These data suggest that this artificial intelligence algorithm can be a promising screening tool for general practitioners, gynecologists, and other primary care practitioners.

Its introduction in this context of diagnostic wandering represents a paradigm shift in clinical practice. In addition, this patient-based screening tool allows patients with endometriosis to self-identify potential symptoms and engage in a dialogue with physicians about diagnosis and treatment, thereby contributing to shared decision making.

Pain and infertility at the forefront

Endometriosis affects 10% of women of childbearing age in France, being 1.5 to 2.5 million women. It potentially concerns all menstruating women and can appear as early as adolescence.

This disease is characterized by the presence of endometrium (mucous membranes lining the inside of the uterus) outside the uterine cavity, in various organs: ovaries, vagina, rectum, bladder, intestines, lungs… At the time of menstruation, these endometrial fragments found in abnormal locations cannot be removed (3).

The disease can also be completely asymptomatic. In this case, it is usually discovered by chance during a consultation motivated by difficulties to conceive a child. UA significant proportion of patients with endometriosis also suffer from infertility.

Three forms of endometriosis are classically described: superficial or peritoneal endometriosis, ovarian endometriosis and deep endometriosis. There is no systematic correlation between the symptoms and the severity of the disease (3).

Worsening of symptoms over time

In about one third of cases (especially in superficial forms), endometriosis can stagnate or even regress, either with treatment or on a spontaneous way. But more often, the symptoms, including pain, get worse over time.

The persistence of pain favors the phenomenon of hypersensitivity: the pain perception level decreases, resulting in the evolution of the pain towards chronicity. .

This chronic pain can appear at any stage of endometriosis and persist even after the lesions of endometriosis are no longer visible (4,5).

Hypersensitivity is favored by the remanence of pain over time and in turn reinforces the evolution of the pain towards chronicity.

Treatments targeting the pain of symptoms

Today, there is no treatment that can cure endometriosis. Beyond the analgesic treatment adapted to each patient, hormonal treatments, which are based on the use of estrogen-progestin contraceptives or continuous progestins, aim to block the occurrence of periods. This background treatment prevents recurrence and the development of new lesions. These treatments can also call upon, in second intention, drugs (Gn-RH agonists, anti-androgens) which put the patient in a state of transitory menopause. These treatments may lead to hot flashes, mood disordes, weight gain…, but an add-back therapy (pill given at the same time) most often avoids these side effects (6).

Surgical treatment is considered when medical treatments are insufficient to relieve the pain. Its goal is to remove endometriosis lesions and correct anatomical abnormalities caused by the disease, including adhesions that reduce organ mobility. The procedure is most often performed by laparoscopy (6).

A major impact on personal and social life

Endometriosis is the cause of a significant deterioration in quality of life.. The pain is responsible for sleep disorders which induce chronic fatigue and psychological disorders (irritability, depression…), causing deterioration in family and social relationships. This in turn leads to a deterioration in family and social relationships. Sexuality is altered, often with major repercussions on the couple. Infertility and uncertainties related to the MAP process also have an important impact (3).

Average annual cost of endometriosis is € 9579 per woman, with an average of 33 days of sick leave per year. The overall societal cost of the disease is estimated at 10.6 billion euros in France (7,8).

The need of a non-invasive diagnostic test

The laparoscopy is now considered as the reference examination for the diagnosis of endometriosis (10). It is nevertheless an invasive procedure that must be performed under general anesthesia and may, like any surgical procedure, be accompanied by intra- or post-operative complications.

The development of a non-invasive diagnostic test for endometriosis has therefore been a major medical need for many years. More than a hundred potential biomarkers (angiogenesis factors, growth factors, hormonal, immune and inflammatory markers, etc.) have been evaluated over the past decades (10).

Among these biomarkers, a new class of molecules discovered in 2000, microRNAs, has emerged as a promising option, supported by a growing number of evidence from studies on cancer and degenerative disorders (11,12).

A global innovation based on 2 breakthrough technologies

High-throughput sequencing and artificial intelligence

Ziwig, in partnership with expert endometriosis physicians, uses two cutting-edge technologies:

High-throughput sequencing or massively parallel sequencing, or next-generation sequencing (NGS), which allows the simultaneous acquisition of data on millions of DNA or RNA fragments.

Artificial intelligence (associated with machine learning), which allows the analysis of the very large volume of data generated by high-throughput sequencing.

A revolution in the care of endometriosis

Beyond diagnosis, it is the entire management of endometriosis that should be improved by the arrival of Ziwig’s Endotest®.

Allowing the slowing down or even stopping of the worsening of pain (by reducing the risk of hypersensitivity) and other symptoms, optimizing the care of infertility and limiting the deterioration in the quality of life of patients.

Ziwig Endotest® makes diagnostic laparoscopy obsolete and should help avoid unnecessary surgery, especially for patients with symptoms similar to endometriosis but who do not have the disease.

Ziwig Endotest® is CE marked. Its provision to patients is currently the subject of consultation with the French health authorities, with a view to its inclusion in the care pathway and its possible reimbursement by the health insurance system.

Ziwig Endotest® saliva test should reduce the average time to diagnosis from 8 years to a few days.

It should, in the long term, allow a significant reduction in the medico-social cost of the disease and contribute to health democracy by allowing all patients, including those living in medical deserts, to benefit from a reliable, early and non-invasive diagnosis.

Acknowledgementss

Our ambition to make progress in endometriosis research and treatment in order to change the way of understanding this disabling disease which affects so many women all over the world, would never have succeeded without all the women and men who have believed in our project.

They fought alongside us to make this innovation possible and to win this cause.  On behalf of all those who will benefit from our innovative approach, we say thank you!

Bibliography

Bibliographic references:

  1. Zondervan  KT et al. Nat Rev Dis Primers 2018;4(1):9 ;

  2. https://solidarites-sante.gouv.fr/soins-et-maladies/prises-en-charge-specialisees/endometriose ;

  3. https://www.endomind.eu/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Reflexions_sur_lendiometriose_en_france.pdf ;

  4. https://www.who.int/fr/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/endometriosis ;

  5. https://www.endofrance.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Hypersensibilisation_Endofrance-SPloteau.pdf ;

  6. Haute Autorité de Santé. Prise en charge de l’endométriose. Fiche de synthèse. Décembre 2017. https://www.has-sante.fr/upload/docs/application/pdf/2018-01/prise_en_charge_de_lendiometriose_-_demarche_diagnostique_et_traitement_medical_-_fiche_de_synthese.pdf ;

  7. Kanj O. Evaluation économique de la prise en charge de l’endométriose. https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-02080162v2/document ;

  8. Fourquet J et al. Fertil Steril 2010; 93(7): 2424–2428. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2860000/pdf/nihms147074.pdf ;

  9. Kiesel L et al. Climacteric 2019;22(3):296-302.

  10. Nisenblat V et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2016;2016 (5):CD012179. ;

  11. Baulande S et al Medsci 2014; 30 : 289-296 ;

  12. Agrawal S et al.Int J Mol Sci 2018;19(2):599

This page is exclusively intended for healthcare professionals.

Test salivaire pour le diagnostic de l’endométriose : une avancée majeure pour la santé des femmes

« Mieux détecter la maladie » : c’est l’un des axes essentiels de la stratégie nationale de lutte contre l’endométriose dont le Président de la République, Emmanuel Macron, a annoncé la mise en place le 11 janvier 2022.

Les femmes atteintes d’endométriose, subissent en effet pour la plupart une longue errance médicale (8 à 12 ans en moyenne), au cours de laquelle elles multiplient rendez-vous, analyses et examens avant qu’un diagnostic, pouvant dans certains cas nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale, ne soit posé.

Une innovation mondiale peut aujourd’hui leur permettre d’éviter ce parcours de la combattante. Une équipe française rassemblant des médecins experts de l’endométriose et des ingénieurs en intelligence artificielle vient en effet de mettre au point un test diagnostique basé sur le séquençage des microARN présents dans la salive.

Ce test salivaire simple et non invasif, baptisé ENDOTEST® Diagnostic, a été validé par le plus large essai clinique jamais réalisé dans ce domaine. Il permet la détection précoce de toutes les formes d’endométriose, même les plus complexes, avec une fiabilité proche de 100 %.

Il devrait révolutionner le diagnostic et la prise en charge de la maladie, et constituer dans un futur proche une avancée majeure pour la santé des femmes.

Nos publications scientifiques

Nos travaux ont été publiés dans des revues scientifiques internationales à comité de lecture :

Juillet 2022

Une approche bioinformatique de l’analyse du séquençage des micro-ARN basée sur des échantillons de salive humaine de patientes atteintes d’endométriose

Bendifallah S., Dabi Y., Suisse S., Delbos L., Poilblanc M., Descamps P., Golfier F., Jornea L., Bouteiller D., Touboul C., Puchar A. et Daraï E.

Il s’agit de la première publication scientifique dans le monde qui s’intéresse à la question des biomarqueurs diagnostics de type micro-ARNs en cas d’endométriose localisés dans la salive. Il s’agit également de la première publication scientifique qui démontre la présence de plus de 2500 biomarqueurs salivaires pouvant être utilisés pour décrypter les mécanismes physiopathologiques de la maladie.

Cette publication décrit dans le détail le procédé de séquençage à haut débit mais aussi l’analyse bio-informatique qui permet de faire le lien entre ces biomarqueurs salivaires et leur intérêt clinique

Mai 2022

Analyse du microRNome associé à l’endométriose dans des échantillons de sang : Une étude prospective

Bendifallah S., Dabi Y., Suisse S., Delbos L., Poilblanc M., Descamps P., Golfier F., Jornea L., Bouteiller D., Touboul C., Puchar A. et Daraï E.

Cette étude démontre chez 200 patientes diagnostiquées pour une suspicion d’endométriose et ayant réalisé un prélèvement sanguin, la reproductibilité de la méthode de détection (séquençage de haut débit) des biomarqueurs de type micro-ARN.

  • Ce travail pour la fois dans le monde en endométriose permet de détecter, quantifier et évaluer la valeur diagnostique de plus de 2600 micro-ARNs dans le sang.
  • Il démontre également sur la plus importante population étudiée tout l’intérêt des micro-ARNs pour différencier des patientes avec et sans endométriose.

Mars 2022

L’analyse du microRNome génère une signature sanguine pour l’endométriose

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Dabi Y., et al.

Cette étude rapporte chez 200 patientes diagnostiquées pour une suspicion d’endométriose et ayant réalisé un prélèvement sanguin :

  • La première signature diagnostique de l’endométriose composée de 86 micro-ARNs.
  • La première signature diagnostique de l’endométriose avec une sensibilité, une spécificité et une précision diagnostique de 96.8%, 100%, and 98.4%, respectivement.
  • La première signature diagnostique de l’endométriose issue de la synthèse de deux technologies émergentes que sont le séquençage de haut débit et la modélisation par Intelligence Artificielle.

Ces performances diagnostiques sont supérieures aux outils utilisés en pratique courante pour le diagnostic comme la chirurgie, les questionnaires, le dosage du CA125, les examens d’imagerie (IRM pelvienne, échographie pelvienne).

Janvier 2022

Signature des micro-ARN salivaires pour le diagnostic de l’endométriose

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Puchar A., et al.

Cette étude rapporte chez 200 patientes diagnostiquées pour une suspicion d’endométriose :

  • L’utilisation d’un prélèvement salivaire non invasif pour la première fois dans le monde ;
  • La démonstration de l’intérêt du séquençage de haut débit, sa fiabilité et sa reproductibilité pour identifier les micro-ARNs salivaires, et ainsi pouvoir analyser plus de 2500 nouveaux biomarqueurs ;
  • La combinaison grâce à des algorithmes d’Intelligence Artificielle de près de 2500 nouveaux biomarqueurs (micro-ARNs) ;
  • L’obtention de la première signature salivaire de diagnostic de l’endométriose composée de 106 micro-ARNs avec une précision plus de 98%.

Janvier 2022

Des pistes pour améliorer la connaissance de la physiopathologie de l’endométriose grâce à l’expression du micro-ARN sérique

Dabi Y., Suisse S., Jornea L., et al.

Cette étude rapporte le lien entre la détection des micro-ARNs dans le sang et les principales voies de signalisation qui expliquent l’apparition de cette pathologie. Plus précisément, chez 200 patientes diagnostiquées pour une suspicion d’endométriose et ayant réalisé un prélèvement sanguin il est rapporté que (i) le séquençage de haut débit permet la détection de plus de 2600 biomarqueurs de type micro-ARN, (ii) tous les biomarqueurs ont été analysé pour évaluer leur pertinence ou lien avec l’endométriose. L’analyse de l’expression différentielle de certains miARNs permet de découvrir de nouvelles voies de signalisation impliquées dans la physiopathologie de l’endométriose ouvrant de nouveaux horizons de la compréhension de cette pathologie et de nouvelles thérapies potentielles.

Janvier 2022

Les algorithmes de Machine Learning (apprentissage automatique) comme nouvelle approche de dépistage des patientes atteintes d’endométriose

Bendifallah S., Suisse S., Puchar A., et al.

Les questionnaires des symptômes sont utilisés depuis de nombreuses années comme un des moyens diagnostiques de l’endométriose. La revue de littérature de Surrey démontre la pertinence faible de ces outils liée à la méthodologie.

Dans cette étude, un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle se basant sur 16 caractéristiques ou symptômes cliniques d’une patiente est évalué pour le diagnostic et le dépistage de l’endométriose. Cet algorithme présente des caractéristiques diagnostique comme une sensibilité et une pertinence supérieure à 80% dépassant les performances des questionnaires classiques.

Ces données suggèrent que cet algorithme d’intelligence artificielle peut être un outil de dépistage prometteur pour les médecins généralistes, les gynécologues et les autres praticiens de première ligne.

Son introduction dans ce contexte d’errance diagnostic représente un changement de paradigme dans la pratique clinique. De plus, cet outil de dépistage basé sur le patient permet aux patientes atteintes d’endométriose d’identifier elles-mêmes les symptômes potentiels et d’entamer un dialogue avec les médecins sur le diagnostic et le traitement, contribuant ainsi à une prise de décision partagée.

Douleur et infertilité au premier plan

L’endométriose touche en France 10 % des femmes en âge de procréer (1), soit 1,5 à 2,5 millions de femmes en France (2). Elle concerne potentiellement toutes les femmes réglées et peut se manifester dès l’adolescence.

Cette maladie se caractérise par la présence de fragments d’un tissu semblable à d’endomètre (muqueuse tapissant l’intérieur de l’utérus) en dehors de la cavité utérine, au niveau de différents organes : ovaires, vagin, rectum, vessie, intestins, poumons… Au moment des règles, ces fragments tissulaires réagissent au cycle et provoquent une inflammation, elle-même à l’origine de douleurs intenses et invalidantes et d’une grande variété de symptômes (3).

La maladie peut aussi être totalement asymptomatique. Dans ce cas, elle est généralement découverte de façon fortuite à l’occasion d’une consultation motivée par des difficultés à concevoir un enfant. Une proportion importante des patientes atteintes d’endométriose souffre en effet également d’infertilité.

Trois formes d’endométriose sont classiquement décrites : l’endométriose superficielle ou péritonéale, l’endométriose ovarienne et l’endométriose profonde. Il n’existe pas systématiquement de corrélation entre les symptômes et la sévérité de la maladie (3).

Symptômes d’endométriose et proportion approximative de femmes concernées (3)

Une aggravation des symptômes au fil du temps

L’endométriose peut, dans environ un tiers des cas (notamment dans les formes superficielles), stagner, voire régresser, sous l’effet du traitement ou de façon spontanée. Mais le plus souvent, les symptômes, notamment la douleur, s’aggravent au fil du temps.

La persistance de la douleur favorise le phénomène d’hypersensibilisation : le seuil de perception de la douleur diminue, et cette diminution favorise en retour l’évolution de la douleur vers la chronicité.

Ces douleurs chroniques peuvent apparaître à n’importe quel stade de l’endométriose et persister même une fois que les lésions d’endométriose ne sont plus visibles (4,5).

L’hypersensibilisation est favorisée par le maintien de la douleur dans le temps et renforce en retour l’évolution de la douleur vers la chronicité

Des traitements ciblant la douleur

Il n’existe pas, aujourd’hui, de traitement permettant de guérir l’endométriose. Au-delà du traitement antalgique adapté à chaque patiente, les traitements hormonaux, qui reposent sur l’utilisation de contraceptifs oestroprogestatifs ou de progestatifs en continu, ont pour objectif de bloquer l’apparition des règles. Ce traitement de fond empêche la récidive et le développement de nouvelles lésions. Il peut également faire appel, en deuxième intention, aux analogues de Gn-RH, qui mettent la patiente en état de ménopause réversible. Ces médicaments peuvent entraîner bouffées de chaleur, irritabilité, prise de poids…, mais une add-back thérapie (pilule donnée en parallèle) permet le plus souvent d’éviter ces effets secondaires (6).

Le traitement chirurgical est proposé essentiellement lorsque les traitements médicaux sont insuffisants pour calmer les douleurs. Il a pour objectif de retirer les lésions d’endométriose : kystes endométriosiques, nodules situés sur le péritoine, dans la vessie ou la cloison recto-vaginale. L’intervention est le plus souvent réalisée par coelioscopie (6).

Un impact majeur sur la vie personnelle et sociale

L’endométriose est à l’origine d’une dégradation importante de la qualité de vie. La douleur est responsable de troubles du sommeil qui induisent une fatigue chronique et des troubles psychologiques (irritabilité, dépression…), eux-mêmes à l’origine d’une détérioration des relations familiales et sociales. La sexualité est altérée, avec des répercussions souvent importantes sur le couple. L’infertilité, les incertitudes liées au parcours de PMA ont également un retentissement important (3).

L’impact de l’endométriose sur la vie professionnelle est majeur et se traduit par un absentéisme scolaire et professionnel à répétition. Dans les pays occidentaux, le coût annuel moyen de l’endométriose est de 9579 € par femme, avec en moyenne 33 jours d’arrêt maladie par an. Le coût sociétal global de la maladie est estimé à 10,6 milliards d’Euros en France (7,8).

La nécessité d’un test diagnostic non invasif

La coelioscopie est aujourd’hui encore  considérée comme l’examen de référence pour le diagnostic de l’endométriose (10). Elle constitue néanmoins un geste invasif qui doit être réalisé sous anesthésie générale et peut, comme toute procédure chirurgicale, s’accompagner de complications per ou post-opératoires.

La mise au point d’un test diagnostic non invasif de l’endométriose s’est donc imposée, depuis de nombreuses années, comme un besoin médical majeur. Plus d’une centaine de biomarqueurs potentiels (facteurs d’angiogenèse, de croissance, marqueurs hormonaux, immunitaires, inflammatoires…) ont ainsi été évalués au cours des dernières décennies (10).

Parmi ces biomarqueurs, une nouvelle classe de molécules découverte en 2000, les micro -ARN, a émergé comme une option prometteuse, étayée par un nombre croissant de preuves issues d’études sur le cancer et les troubles neurodégénératifs (11,12).

Une innovation mondiale basée sur 2 technologies de rupture

Séquençage haut-débit et intelligence artificielle

Ziwig, associé à des médecins experts de l’endométriose, utilise deux technologies de pointe :

Le séquençage à haut débit ou séquençage massivement parallèle, ou next-generation sequencing (NGS), qui permet l’acquisition simultanée de données relatives à des millions de fragments d’ADN ou d’ARN.

L’intelligence artificielle (associée à l’apprentissage automatique ou machine learning), qui permet l’analyse du très grand volume de données généré par le séquençage à haut débit.

Une révolution dans la prise en charge de l’endométriose

Au-delà du diagnostic, c’est l’ensemble de la prise en charge de l’endométriose qui devrait être améliorée par l’arrivée d’Endotest® Diagnostic de Ziwig.

Cette innovation majeure limitera l’errance médicale et permettra un diagnostic et un traitement précoces de l’endométriose.  Elle permettra de ralentir voire de stopper l’aggravation des douleurs (en réduisant le risque d’hypersensibilisation) et des autres symptômes, d’optimiser la prise en charge de l’infertilité et d’améliorer la qualité de vie des patientes.

Endotest® Diagnostic de Ziwig rend obsolète la pratique de la coelioscopie diagnostique et devrait permettre d’éviter les interventions chirurgicales inutiles, notamment chez les patientes ayant une symptomatologie proche de l’endométriose mais non porteuses de la maladie.

L’Endotest® Diagnostic de Ziwig bénéficie d’un marquage CE. Sa mise à disposition des patientes fait actuellement l’objet d’une concertation avec les autorités de santé françaises, en vue de son inscription dans le parcours de soin et de son éventuel remboursement par l’assurance maladie.

Le test salivaire Endotest® Diagnostic de Ziwig permettra de réduire le délai moyen de diagnostic de 8 ans à quelques jours.

Il devrait, à terme, permettre une réduction importante du coût médico-social de la maladie et contribuer à la démocratie sanitaire en permettant à toutes patientes, y compris celles résidant dans des déserts médicaux, de profiter d’un diagnostic fiable, précoce et non invasif.

Remerciements

Notre ambition à faire avancer la recherche et la prise en charge de l’endométriose pour changer la façon d’appréhender cette maladie invalidante qui touche tant de femmes à travers le monde, n’aurait jamais abouti sans toutes les femmes et les hommes qui ont cru en notre projet.

Ils et elles se sont battus à nos côtés pour rendre possible cette innovation et pour gagner cette cause.  Au nom de toutes celles qui trouveront un bénéfice dans nos avancées, nous leur disons merci !

Bibliographie

Références bibliographiques :

  1. Zondervan  KT et al. Nat Rev Dis Primers 2018;4(1):9 ;

  2. https://solidarites-sante.gouv.fr/soins-et-maladies/prises-en-charge-specialisees/endometriose ;

  3. https://www.endomind.eu/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Reflexions_sur_lendiometriose_en_france.pdf ;

  4. https://www.who.int/fr/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/endometriosis ;

  5. https://www.endofrance.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Hypersensibilisation_Endofrance-SPloteau.pdf ;

  6. Haute Autorité de Santé. Prise en charge de l’endométriose. Fiche de synthèse. Décembre 2017. https://www.has-sante.fr/upload/docs/application/pdf/2018-01/prise_en_charge_de_lendiometriose_-_demarche_diagnostique_et_traitement_medical_-_fiche_de_synthese.pdf ;

  7. Kanj O. Evaluation économique de la prise en charge de l’endométriose. https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-02080162v2/document ;

  8. Fourquet J et al. Fertil Steril 2010; 93(7): 2424–2428. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2860000/pdf/nihms147074.pdf ;

  9. Kiesel L et al. Climacteric 2019;22(3):296-302.

  10. Nisenblat V et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2016;2016 (5):CD012179. ;

  11. Baulande S et al Medsci 2014; 30 : 289-296 ;

  12. Agrawal S et al.Int J Mol Sci 2018;19(2):599

Cette page est exclusivement réservée aux professionnels de santé.